UK sanctions regimes


Last updated 7 January 2021

This page provides information on UK sanctions regimes currently in force. This includes regimes under the Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018 (the Sanctions Act) and under other UK legislation such as the Export Control Order 2008 and the Anti-Terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001.

A regime is a collection of sanctions measures put in place for a particular set of purposes. Regimes can be either ‘thematic’ (relating to a particular issue), or ‘geographic’ (relating to a particular country or region).

Find out who is subject to UK sanctions under the Sanctions Act, including designated persons and specified or designated ships.

Find out who is subject to financial sanctions under the Sanctions Act and other UK legislation.